The Original Title of the Short Story: The Dreamer is Still Asleep [The Never Before Told Story Behind the Original Title of the Book]

I would like to add before I begin is that I worked hard in writing the character development of Christopher Lane in this short story that I had finalized the title “The Dreamer is Still Asleep”.

I rewrote it ten times with ink before finalizing it into manuscript form. Normally when I write something, I will write it once in ink, and then edit and rewrite it while in manuscript format.

Well, The Dreamer is Still Asleep was a perfect title for the work of fiction, however it was not originally titled that. The original title was called “Twisted Lover”. You see, while writing it I would listen to the musical group coil, and the original title wasn’t really something I had set in stone, although I found the title catchy enough to keep in hand for a while.

While writing the final manuscript in book format I already had printed out the short story. Read it again and again and looked at the title and thought “Hmm, I don’t want this title considering it is a good one…I feel indecisive with it.” A few minutes passed and viola! The song “The Dreamer is Still Asleep” came on. I sat back and reminded myself about how Sleazy gave me permission to use Coil as a back drop for future spoken word works as long as I didn’t publish it on dvd format and use it for profit. And I gave him my word I never would. And published the title of the book with the new short story title with “The Dreamer is Still Asleep – Short Stories for Those Haunted”, Considering there are a lot of other short stories within the book as I added the rest of the title with “Short Stories for Those Haunted”.

Completing the book and shortly after publication I decided to create a book teaser and make sure I gave credit where credit was due to the band members of Coil and also mentioned I was given permission in the credits of the teaser.

So with this in mind, I decided to create the book teaser with the song in the background. The Teaser can be viewed Below.

I was fortunate to get to know a little about Sleazy through email correspondences Shortly before his passing. We talked about coming out to Thailand and he mentioned how it would be best if I were to go alone. He also wrote in the correspondence that if I were to go with someone, the capturing of the environment as a whole wouldn’t be taken in quite effectively if I were to have brought someone along for the trip. I never did go on the trip, though I wish I could have…although it wasn’t meant to be during that time.

I am currently in still the ink development of writing and working on the second part of the short story that is titled “The Dreamer is Still Asleep PT. II”.

I am enjoying working again with the main Character Christopher Lane, who in the second part of this story will have a more clear perspective of what is going on in the story. The original story is vague and gives the reader a feeling that everything that is happening in the story is true, however;
part II will give the reader an understanding of what I mean when I changed the title to The Dreamer is Still Asleep.

Thank you for reading this blog and I do love and adore that you are indeed a reader.
-The Distorted Poet
Michael G. Stone

~ by The Distorted Poet on November 21, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
